Party pics: PRSA Hawaii Koa Anvil Awards 2016

By Rebecca Pang

The Hawaii chapter of the Public Relations Society of America (PRSA) celebrated the best in the industry at its 33rd Annual Koa Anvil Awards ceremony Thursday night in Waikiki. After a record number of entries, PRSA Hawaii gave out a total of 89 awards, with the Best of Show awarded to Aqua-Aston Hospitality for its brand relaunch campaign.

PRSA Hawaii also honored individuals: James Boersema, APR (Hall of Honor); Kristen K.C. Bonilla, APR (Gregg W. Perry Public Relations Professional of the Year); Hilary Bingman (Hokupa‘a Young Public Relations Professional of the Year); and Amy Hennessey, APR (President’s Leadership Award).

Additionally, the Koa Anvils serves as a fundraiser for public relations education, including support for the establishment of an endowed faculty chair in public relations at the University of Hawaii at Manoa.

For a complete list of winners, visit