Hawai‘i Lawyers of the Year 2018

Who is the best of the best? Says Best Lawyers, “The lawyers being honored as ‘Lawyers of the Year’ were selected because they received particularly high ratings from most of their peers. In some cases, they also received particularly effusive comments from some of those same peers. The selected lawyers have earned a high level of respect among other leading lawyers in the same communities and the same practice areas for their abilities, their professionalism and their integrity.”


Only a single lawyer in each practice area in each community is honored as a “Lawyer of the Year” each year. Congratulations to all.


Lisa A. Bail, Litigation—Environmental


Michael J. Belles, Land-Use and Zoning Law


Mark J. Bennett, Bet-the-Company Litigation


Louis L.C. Chang, Mediation


Calvert G. Chipchase, Litigation—Real Estate


Thomas E. Cook, Medical Malpractice Law—Defendants


Thomas R. Daniel, Closely Held Companies and Family Businesses Law


LindaLee K. Farm, Litigation—Insurance


Byron C. Feldman II, Arbitration


T. Anthony Gill, Labor Law—Union


Robert Carson Godbey, Copyright Law


J. George Hetherington, Health Care Law


Maile M. Hirota, Immigration Law


Clifford B. Hunt, Criminal Defense—General Practice


Louise K.Y. Ing, Litigation—Bankruptcy


Ray K. Kamikawa, Tax Law


John C. Khil, Employee Benefits (ERISA) Law


Benjamin A. Kudo, Litigation—Land Use and Zoning


Edward R. Lebb, Family Law


Michael K. Livingston, Personal Injury Litigation—Plaintiffs


Ivan M. Lui-Kwan, Government Relations Practice


Howard K.K. Luke, Criminal Defense—White Collar


April Luria, Legal Malpractice Law—Defendants


Ian L. Mattoch, Medical Malpractice Law—Plaintiffs


William Meheula, Legal Malpractice Law—Plaintiffs


Richard B. Miller, Insurance Law


Joy M. Miyasaki, Trusts and Estates


Lisa Woods Munger, Environmental Law


John S. Nishimoto, Personal Injury Litigation—Defendants


Terence J. O’Toole, Appellate Practice


Lawrence S. Okinaga, Banking and Finance Law


Miki Okumura, Litigation and Controversy—Tax


Judith Ann Pavey, Litigation—Banking and Finance


Ted N. Pettit, Bankruptcy and Creditor-Debtor Rights/Insolvency and Reorganization Law


Stewart Pressman, Mergers and Acquisitions Law


Michael M. Purpura, Litigation—Securities


Richard M. Rand, Litigation—Labor and Employment


Dean H. Robb, Admiralty and Maritime Law


Tom E. Roesser, Mortgage Banking Foreclosure Law


Bert S. Sakuda, Mass Tort Litigation/Class Actions—Plaintiffs and Product Liability Litigation—Plaintiffs


Gregory M. Sato, Labor Law—Management


David F. Simons, Employment Law—Individuals


Peter Starn, Business Organizations (including LLCs and Partnerships)


Gerald A. Sumida, Energy Law


Robert H. Thomas, Eminent Domain and Condemnation Law


Michael D. Tom, Litigation—Construction


J. Thomas Van Winkle, Corporate Law


Sarah O. Wang, Employment Law—Management


Eric S.T. Young, Litigation—Trusts and Estates


Leighton J.H.S. Yuen, Real Estate Law