Hawai‘i Lawyers of the Year 2017

Who is the best of the best? Says Best Lawyers, “The lawyers being honored as ‘Lawyers of the Year’ were selected because they received particularly high ratings from most of their peers. In some cases, they also received particularly effusive comments from some of those same peers. The selected lawyers have earned a high level of respect among other leading lawyers in the same communities and the same practice areas for their abilities, their professionalism and their integrity.”


Only a single lawyer in each practice area in each community is honored as a “Lawyer of the Year” each year. Congratulations to all. 


John R. Aube, Banking and Finance Law


Sidney K. Ayabe, Personal Injury Litigation—Defendants


Mark J. Bennett, Litigation—Insurance


William A. Bordner, Legal Malpractice Law—Defendants


Trevor A. Brown, Mortgage Banking Foreclosure Law


KahBo Dye-Chiew, Immigration Law


Collin M. Fritz, Personal Injury Litigation—Plaintiffs


Gary O. Galiher, Mass Tort Litigation/Class Actions—Plaintiffs


Rhonda L. Griswold, Trusts and Estates


Gregory M. Hansen, Employee Benefits (ERISA) Law


Jerry M. Hiatt, Employment Law—Individuals


William S. Hunt, Medical Malpractice Law—Defendants


Michelle C. Imata, Financial Services Regulation Law


William M. Kaneko, Government Relations Practice


James A. Kawachika, Litigation—Trusts and Estates


Grace Nihei Kido, Environmental Law


Simon Klevansky, Bankruptcy and Creditor-Debtor Rights/Insolvency and Reorganization Law


John L. Knorek, Labor Law—Management


Nenad Krek, Admiralty and Maritime Law


Gregory W. Kugle, Litigation—Land Use and Zoning


Kenneth R. Kupchak, Eminent Domain and Condemnation Law


Corianne W. Lau, Litigation—Labor and Employment


Michael K. Livingston, Medical Malpractice Law—Plaintiffs


Howard K.K. Luke, Criminal Defense—General Practice


Kenneth B. Marcus, Mergers and Acquisitions Law


Donna C. Marron, Litigation—Environmental


Michael R. Marsh, Arbitration


Chris S. Mashiba, Litigation and Controversy—Tax


William C. McCorriston, Product Liability Litigation—Plaintiffs


William Meheula, Bet-the-Company Litigation


Joy M. Miyasaki, Tax Law


Craig I. Nakanishi, Energy Law


David A. Nakashima, Litigation—Construction


Michael J. O’Malley, Corporate Law


Lawrence S. Okinaga, Litigation—Banking and Finance


Judith Ann Pavey, Legal Malpractice Law—Plaintiffs


Michael M. Purpura, Appellate Practice


Stephanie A. Rezents, Family Law


Marc E. Rousseau, Business Organizations (including LLCs and Partnerships)


Gregory M. Sato, Employment Law—Management


Eric A. Seitz, Criminal Defense—White Collar


Cuyler E. Shaw, Health Care Law


Randall K. Steverson, Real Estate Law


Robert H. Thomas, Land-Use and Zoning Law


Terry E. Thomason, Administrative/Regulatory Law


Susan Tius, Litigation—Bankruptcy


Robert D. Triantos, Litigation—Real Estate


George W. Van Buren, Insurance Law


Keith Y. Yamada, Construction Law


Patrick K.S.L. Yim, Mediation