Hawai‘i Lawyers of the Year 2016

Who is the best of the best? Says Best Lawyers, “The lawyers being honored as ‘Lawyers of the Year’ were selected because they received particularly high ratings from most of their peers. In some cases, they also received particularly effusive comments from some of those same peers. The selected lawyers have earned a high level of respect among other leading lawyers in the same communities and the same practice areas for their abilities, their professionalism and their integrity.”


Only a single lawyer in each practice area in each community is honored as a “Lawyer of the Year” each year. Congratulations to all. 


Lisa A. Bail, Environmental Law


David F.E. Banks, Corporate Law


Michael J. Belles, Real Estate Law


Mark J. Bennett, Bet-the-Company Litigation


Margery S. Bronster, Litigation—Insurance


Ellen Godbey Carson, Health Care Law


Louis L.C. Chang, Arbitration


Robert E. Chapman, Litigation—Banking and Finance


Deborah Macer Chun, Financial Services Regulation Law


Gerald S. Clay, Construction Law


Thomas E. Cook, Personal Injury Litigation—Defendants


Charles W. Crumpton, Mediation


Lani L. Ewart, Banking and Finance Law


Robert G. Frame, Admiralty and Maritime Law


Michael W. Gibson, Litigation—Real Estate


Joanne Lo Grimes, Employee Benefits (ERISA) Law