Hawai‘i Lawyers of the Year 2015

Who is the best of the best? Says Best Lawyers, “The lawyers being honored as ‘Lawyers of the Year’ were selected because they received particularly high ratings from most of their peers. In some cases, they also received particularly effusive comments from some of those same peers. The selected lawyers have earned a high level of respect among other leading lawyers in the same communities and the same practice areas for their abilities, their professionalism and their integrity.”


Only a single lawyer in each practice area in each community is honored as a “Lawyer of the Year” each year. Congratulations to all.


Lisa A. Bail, Litigation—Environmental

A. Bernard Bays, Legal Malpractice Law—Defendants

Walter Beh II, Litigation—Real Estate

Mark J. Bennett, Appellate Practice

Daniel A. Bent, Mediation

Mark S. Davis, Medical Malpractice Law—Plaintiffs

Kale Feldman, Litigation—Construction

Duane R. Fisher, Corporate Law

William A. Harrison, Criminal Defense—Non-White Collar

C. Michael Heihre, Eminent Domain and Condemnation Law

J. George Hetherington, Health Care Law

Maile M. Hirota, Immigration Law

James K. Hoenig, Arbitration

Lyle Hosoda, Litigation—Insurance

Louise K.Y. Ing, Bet-the-Company Litigation and Litigation—Bankruptcy

Patrick H. Jones, Labor Law—Management

John L. Knorek, Employment Law—Management

Benjamin A. Kudo, Land-Use and Zoning Law

Kenneth R. Kupchak, Litigation—Land Use and Zoning

Judy Yuriko Lee, Trusts and Estates

Sharon V. Lovejoy, Mortgage Banking Foreclosure Law

Ivan M. Lui-Kwan, Government Relations Practice

Timothy J. Lui-Kwan, Administrative/Regulatory Law

Howard K.K. Luke, Criminal Defense—White Collar

Timothy Luria, Family Law

John Thomas Maloney Jr., Employee Benefits (ERISA) Law

Chris S. Mashiba, Tax Law

Ian L. Mattoch, Product Liability Litigation—Plaintiffs

Joy M. Miyasaki, Litigation and Controversy—Tax

Lee T. Nakamura, Personal Injury Litigation—Defendants

Lawrence S. Okinaga, Financial Services Regulation Law

Peter W. Olson, Insurance Law

Michael J. O’Malley, Business Organizations (including LLCs and Partnerships)

Terence J. O’Toole, Litigation—Banking and Finance

John Francis Perkin, Legal Malpractice Law—Plaintiffs

Ted N. Pettit, Bankruptcy and Creditor-Debtor Rights/Insolvency and Reorganization Law

Arthur F. Roeca, Medical Malpractice Law—Defendants

Marc E. Rousseau, Mergers and Acquisitions Law

Bert S. Sakuda, Personal Injury Litigation—Plaintiffs

Ian L. Sandison, Environmental Law

Carl J. Schlack Jr., Real Estate Law

Douglas C. Smith, Litigation—Trusts and Estates

Elbridge W. Smith, Employment Law—Individuals

Gerald A. Sumida, Energy Law

Michael D. Tom, Construction Law

Bruce H. Wakuzawa, Mass Tort Litigation/Class Actions—Plaintiffs

Christopher S. Yeh, Litigation—Labor and Employment

Janel M. Yoshimoto, Banking and Finance Law


In Memoriam

John R. Lacy, Admiralty and Maritime Law