Finalists Announced for Second Annual aio Media Hawai‘i Lodging & Tourism Awards

Dr. Chuck Yim Gee to receive Tourism Legacy Award.
HLTA Awards


The aio Media Hawai‘i Lodging & Tourism Awards aim to publicly recognize and reward excellence within the industry, reinforce the value of the tourism industry, reinforce consumer confidence in the tourism industry, and promote an annual platform of celebration for the industry and offer networking opportunities for operators, supporters, and sponsors.


A new addition to the program in 2019 is the Tourism Legacy Award. It is given to the individual who during the course of his or her lifetime has made a significant contribution to Hawai‘i’s number-one industry. HLTA and aio Media are honored to announce the recipient of the inaugural Tourism Legacy Award, Dr. Chuck Yim Gee, Dean Emeritus of the University of Hawai‘i at Manoa’s School of Travel Industry Management.


Nominations were submitted by the public in October, and three (3) to five (5) finalists in each category were selected by a blue-ribbon committee. The finalists will be recognized, and one winner announced, at an awards dinner at the Hilton Hawaiian Village on the evening of Friday, March 1, 2019, beginning at 5:30 p.m.


View the list of finalists here.