8 Hawaii Candidates Declared Winners Before Election Day

State Rep. Marcus Oshiro ran unopposed in House District 46.
Photo: Courtesy of Hawaii House of Representatives – Majority

How can someone win an election before even a single ballot has been cast? That’s what happens when a candidate has no challenger. We pointed out a few weeks ago that 14 Hawaii candidates were running unopposed. Come the final deadline, the number decreased to eight. (We like to think we had something to do with that.) Here are those candidates who won the election outright, before any of us had a chance to vote. All of them have served in elective office which tends to discourage first-time candidates from jumping in. No disrespect to the hard-working lawmakers on this list but the lack of competition kind of makes us think about that great bumper sticker: No Vote, No Grumble.

1. State Senate District 7 (East Maui, Upcountry, Molokai-Lanai)

State Sen. Kalani English (D), incumbent

2. State Senate District 16 (Pearl City, Aiea)

City Councilmember Breene Harimoto (D), replacing state Sen. David Ige, who is running for governor.

3. State House District 7 (Kaupulehu, Waimea, Halaula)

State Rep. Cindy Evans (D), incumbent

4. State House District 29 (Kalihi, Palama, Chinatown)

State Rep. Karl Rhoads (D), incumbent

5. State House District 30 (Sand Island, Mokauea, Kapalama, Kalihi Kai)

State Rep. Romy Cachola (D), incumbent

6. State House District 39 (Royal Kunia, Village Park, Waipahu)

State Rep. Ty Cullen (D), incumbent

7. State House District 46 (Wahiawa, Whitmore Village)

State Rep. Marcus Oshiro (D), incumbent

8. State House District 49 (Kaneohe, Maunawili, Olomana)

State Rep. Kenneth Ito (D), incumbent