Edit ModuleShow Tags

About the Hawai‘i Restaurant Association


About the Hawai‘i Restaurant Association

The Hawai‘i Restaurant Association (HRA) is the leading advocate for Hawai‘i’s food-service industries. A nonprofit trade association that works side-by-side with the National Restaurant Association and the National Restaurant Association Education Foundation, HRA represents, educates and promotes the restaurant, food service, hospitality and tourism industries by providing members with:

  • Discount programs

  • Networking opportunities

  • Events

  • Legislative lobbying on current issues and concerns

  • Industry updates

  • Industry data and resources for businesses

  • Dual membership with the National Restaurant Association


The food-service, hospitality, restaurant and tourism industries are part of the foundation for Hawai‘i’s economy. The Aloha State has more than 3,500 food-service locations, directly employing more than 82,000 hardworking people. The HRA strives to improve these industries with all of its professional services. 


The HRA is governed by a regional representative board of directors. Each board member serves a two- or three-year term. The aim of this experienced team is to ensure that the HRA provides the most effective services and representation possible for the restaurant, food-service, hospitality and tourism industries. 


The 2015-2016 board of directors includes: 

Chair Eron Read, Kona Brewing Co.; Chair-Elect Michael Miller, Tiki’s Grill & Bar; Imm. Past Chair Dirk Koeppenkastrop, Il Gelato Hawai‘i; Vice Chair Pat Kashani, Tropics Tap House; Treasurer Diana Viccheinrut, Outrigger Hotels and Secretary Tom Jones, Gyotaku/AGU.


The Directors are:

Thomas Metzger, CiCi’s Pizza; Allen Farinas, GRYLT; Tushar Dubey, Hokulani Bake Shop; Eric Waddell, Fleetwood’s on the Front; Christian Self, Bevy; Tyler Roukema, Outback Steakhouse, Hawai‘i Kai; Len Delekta, Image Apparel Hawai‘i; Thomas Frigge, TOBE Co. Food Safety; Biff Graper, Colliers International; Conrad Nonaka, Culinary Institute of the Pacific; Naomi Azama, HMAA and Doug Harris, Harris Agency.


The Advisory Board Members Are:

Kehau Giles, Kaiser; John Howard, Hansen; Alan Hoki, Hawai‘i Administrators; Gail Chew, HFM Foodservice; Sharon Shigemoto, HAWAI‘I Gas; Richard Kaluhiokalani, Heartland Payment Systems; Anne Lee, HONOLULU Magazine and National Restaurant Association Director Victor Lim, McDonald’s/ LWD Inc.



A message from the executive director

This is proving to be an exceptional year for our industry. The HRA is under new leadership and working to enhance the overall benefit of your membership by working hard to stay on top of current legislative issues that affect our industry.


Our mission is to keep you informed while lobbying on your behalf. We also offer member-only discounts, money-saving offers, cost-saving seminars and ideas to help you become more profitable. Get the support and resources your company needs to be successful and contribute to Hawai‘i’s unique and diverse community. Call me at 944-9105 to see how we can help you reach your business goals.


I look forward to working with you to strengthen the restaurant industry in Hawai‘i. Mahalo!


Gregg Fraser,
Executive Director
Hawai‘i Restaurant Association


Edit ModuleShow Tags Edit ModuleShow Tags Edit ModuleShow Tags



About the Hawai‘i Restaurant Association

The association is here to help Hawai‘i’s restaurant, food-service and hospitality industries.


Hawai‘i Restaurant Association’s Ninth Annual Hall of Fame 

Motivation, perseverance and a whole lot of hard work is what made this year’s inductees become standouts in the Island dining scene. Meet the individuals who are now part of the Hawai‘i Restaurant Association’s restaurant and food industry Hall of Fame. 


2015 Selection Committee 

The 14 men and women of the Hawai‘i Restaurant Association Hall of Fame selection committee chose this year’s honorees. Meet its members.


Chef’s of Aloha 

Meet the distinguished chefs of this year’s Hawai‘i Restaurant Association annual Hall of Fame gala.